top of page

Blog #5

To be honest, walking into class on the first day of class and hearing that we would write about genres and what they mean to you, really had me shocked. I had taken ENC 1101 and 1102 and neither time during that class did we ever talking about writing in the form of genres. I had no idea what to expect or how to prepare myself. To keep it short and sweet though, a genre is a compositions kind, category, or sort. That is a very broad understanding, especially for someone like me who is hearing all this for the first time and still isn’t all too sure what a genre still is. Your whole life you’ve been writing about genres and probably have never heard of the term. A genre can be flexible. It can intervene in other subjects and come up as two different points of topics. A genre can be a sports team or a song you listened to last night. The reasons we use genres is to make it an easier transition to writing about a certain topic. If you can narrow down a certain genre to specific topics, writing should come easier to you and the focus you are trying to have.


About Me.

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. I’m a great place for you to tell a story and let your users know a little more about you.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
Never Miss a Post!
bottom of page