top of page

Reflection

Coming into ENC 2135 I was very skeptical about what was going to happen during the length of the class and if I was going to be able to write at a level that I needed to for the class. I had already taken two other ENC classes so I felt prepared but an unfamiliar environment could always be a little challenging and even intimidating. Thankfully, this class was neither of these. With a class full of eager students who were all striving for the same end goal, a really good grade. With well thought out and clear instructions that were easy to follow and to help guide we were well on our way to classroom success. On the first day of class we created our wix.com website that was our portal for all of our work. It was easy to set-up, personalize and navigate. Though I did need additional instructions on how to post assignments in certain tabs a five-minute tutorial did the trick. When we started on the first project and set-up our topic of interest you began to see how it was all going to be tied together. From that point forward I felt I knew where I was heading. My topic of interest for Project One focused on one of my favorite. One that I enjoy immensely and love to share with all that I meet, and that is the world of Scuba Diving. Project 1 asked you to focus on a community and the connection you felt with that community. A few times I needed to be reminded to be more specific and stick to the topic at hand, but it all was for a specific purpose as I later understood much better. As a wrote, and re-wrote the essay I began to realize that there are so many different facets of scuba diving that I didn’t even realize. Each time I was asked to connect back to my community I realized that all of this was why I love scuba diving. These included traveling to new locations, sharing stories and pictures both with my fellow divers and my non-diver friends. Both my parents are avid divers and they had passed the passion on to me and I never really had realized it. I love everything that you can do with it. When I started to prepare for the second project I needed to connect again with my community. This is where I went into detail with my dive logs and the dive logs of others. In utilizing dive logs available on the internet, I could compare other people’s journeys to mine. When I examined the logs of the other divers, who were diving the same reefs as I have, I realized that what I love so much about scuba diving is that you never know what you are going to get from one dive to the next. You could dive the same reef for a week straight and each dive will be different. The water conditions from visibility to temperature to the current can all change each day. But, more than this is the different sea creatures you will see, one day it could be sharks, the next it could be goliath groupers or tens of lobsters hiding in holes. Again, I believe I knew all of this but not until I started write about it did I realize what a rush this is for the sport. Project 2 was the longest essay I was ever assigned to write and it had to include an Annotated bibliography, something I had never done before. Therefore, this essay took a long time to write and might be the most time I’ve ever spent on one project for a class. It took a lot longer to write than I had initially thought it would. Perhaps being away at college for the first time, and all that goes alon


About Me.

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. I’m a great place for you to tell a story and let your users know a little more about you.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
Never Miss a Post!
bottom of page