top of page

Blog #8

Citing and documenting sources is an area that all students who do research papers need to understand thoroughly. In my two previous ENC classes the students were taught ways to cite sources but none of those match what is taught in this class’s book. With the resources that are provided by the Florida State University text it’s easier for us students to cite properly and correctly document information from various sources. This chapter also helps a student understand how to quote a text from the author, how to paraphrase text from the author and how to summarize. It also explains what the differences are between the three. I find that quoting is one of the most difficult thing to cite but if you start off the sentence with, ‘’From the Bedford Book of Genres on page 372 they specifically talk about quoting a source when the author is given.” (Braziller and Klenfield 372). I realize now that I was never taught properly how to cite and teachers would just tell us to get it close and they would count it as correct. This chapter has been helpful in clearing up some of the confusion that I had as to the proper way to cite references and quotes.


About Me.

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. I’m a great place for you to tell a story and let your users know a little more about you.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
Never Miss a Post!
bottom of page